2024 Eugene Smith-John Ratka Memorial Scholarship Winner, JrROTC Commander Eileen Suarez (Lawrence High)


Eileen Suarez


Every year The Valley Patriot newspaper hold an annual Charity BASH where we raise money for local students going to college. This year is our 20th Anniversary and we are raising funds for eight high school students in the Merrimack Valley going to college in the fall.

The BASH is being held this year on March 22nd at the Firefighters Relief In, 1 Market St in Lawrence you can get tickets HERE

Donate to this Scholarship

Eileen Suarez is the 19th Lawrence High School graduate to receive this scholarship.

Eileen is a 17-year-old student at Lawrence High School. Her family came to the United States of America in the mid 90’s when her great grandfather decided to change the future of the family by moving here from Dominican Republic.

Eileen was born and raised in Lawrence, Massachusetts. She is currently the JROTC Lancer Battalion Commander for the 2023-2024 school year.

She has been a key member of the JROTC program for the last three years. She has been an active member the Drill & Ceremony team since her first year as a JROTC cadet, culminating as the overall commander, and has also participated in various MAP and Raider teams.

Eileen has seized the opportunities these experiences have afforded her  and was one of 5 cadets from the Lancer Battalion selected to participate in an exchange opportunity with British Cadet in England. 

She is extremely grateful to her older brother for introducing her to the JROTC program. 

Outside of her school activities, Eileen was an intern at Charles River Labs last summer.

After High School her future plans include becoming the first person in her family to graduate college and to pursue a career as a nurse practitioner.  She loves helping others and wants to continue doing so.  She is excited to see where life takes her.



2010-Davante Jones, Franklin Pierce University

2011-Crismelys Ruiz, Lincoln Tech. Lowell – Med Asst.

2012-Ambar Hussein-Martinez, Northern Essex

2013-Thalia Garcia, Westfield State University

2014 Sofia Cardenas and Ramses Jiminez Candelario

2015  Christopher Pichardo & Caroline Garcia

2016 Kevin Vanderhorst & Thu Dang.

2017 Christian Lantigua and Leslie Morerro,

2018 Darlene Santos

2019 Rachel Hiraldo

2020 Camilla Herrera

2021 Covid Hysteria

2022 Katerin Ucles

2023 Jaraliz Morales