Studio 21 Podcast Cafe Scholarship Recipient Methuen High School’s James Sugden


This scholarship at our annual BASH was started last year by Dave Garofalo of the Studio 21 Podcast Cafe in Salem, N.H. for a student going into media or communications.
Because we did not have a Methuen High School student on our scholarship program Tom Duggan got permission from Dave to designate this scholarship for a student graduating from Methuen High.

Bash Committee member Jana DiNatale researched and chose James Sugden of Methuen as this year’s recipient.

James Sugden’s favorite classes are history and film/video production. Both sparked his interest and he is eager to pursue a degree in History and Film in college. James is very involved with the music program. He is in Honors Band, Marching Band, Jazz Band, Dirty Hands Ink, and he also plays in the school’s theater productions.

These commitments certainly take up a lot of time after school, including multiple hours of practice.

He volunteered at a local grammar school for their fall festival, and he has assisted with unified track. He is a member of the National Honor and History Honor Societies as well. Moreover, he works for the school’s video production crew, and films the school committee meetings, which is a job he has had since last year. This year, James did a Christmas Special involving teachers for his video production class and it was fabulous!

On hand to present the giant check to James were, (Pictured above) Methuen City Council Chairman Eunice Zeigler, Methuen resident and Chairman of the Gr. Lawrence Tech School Committee Francisco Surillo, Councilor Nick DiZoglio, State Rep. Ryan Hamilton, Methuen School Committee members Jana Zanni Pesce (background) and Ryan DiZoglio, State Rep. Estela Reyes and Francisco Paulino, State Senator Pavel Payano, Dave DiNatale, Joe Zingales from Zingales Realty who donated to this scholarship and Massachusetts State Auditor Diana DiZoglio who also presented a citation to James for his accomplishment.


Dave Garofolo – Studio 21 Podcast Café, Eric Lanoue, Ray Smith, Jean Lug, Stacie Cashman, Jovanny Marte, Larry Giordano & Methuen Karate School, Nick DiZoglio, Lillian Demers, Joel Faretra, Senator Pavel Payano, Joey Viel, Jana Zanni Pesce, Tracey Swiniarski, Lorianin Gangi, Anonymous, Linda Soucy, John Guilmet, Heather Kempkes, Yashira Rosa, Heidi McNeil, Janie Evans, Beverly Marotto, Mark Gosselin, Rich Beshara, Lisa Pinard, Eunice Zeigler, DJ Beauregard, Ryan DiZoglio, Kelly O’Brien, Ryan Hamilton, Joe Zingales, Ron Marsan, Jessica Finocchiaro, Carl Burridge, Ryan DiZoglio.