Lawrence Mayor Announces Police Chief Applicant Review Committee

LAWRENCE – Mayor Dan Rivera has named the members of the Police Chief Applicant Review Committee to replace Chief James Fitzpatrick who stepped down two months ago. Mayor Rivera has appointed Roy Vasque as Chief during the application process for a permanent replacement.

 Police Chief Job Posting

The committee, which is made up of five members, includes residents and city officials that will play a key role in the process to review applicants and aid in the selection of the next Lawrence Police Chief.

“The Police Chief Applicant Review Committee has a big job ahead of them,” said Mayor Rivera.

“They will be responsible for vetting these applicants in a thoughtful, in depth manner. The end result will be a Police Chief who is qualified, committed to the safety of our city and its residents and help to ensure that we have a world- class police department.”

The committee members are listed below:
1. Councilor David Abdoo, Lawrence City Councilor, 54 Stevens St. Lawrence

2. Pedro Torres, Chair of the Licensing Board, 51 West St. Lawrence

. Ana Luz Garcia, Towerhill Neighborhood Assoc. Member, 46 Cypress St. Lawrence

4. Atty. Zoila Gomez, Immigration Attorney, 84 E Haverhill St, Lawrence

5. Cpt. Scott McNamara, President, Superior Officers Union, 90 Lowell St. Lawrence

The committee will narrow the applicant pool to two finalists and submit the names to the Mayor, who will choose one name to send down to the City Council for confirmation in May. City of Lawrence advertised the position with local and Boston newspapers, as well as Massachusetts, New England and National Police Chiefs Organizations and Publications.